Croquis designs.

Most textile designs are painted and created first as croquis. It is just a simple way of implying repeat, meaning that the pattern structure is hardly  noticeable. It’s a good way to explore ideas, and to play around with your motifs, by using different rhythms and compositions, which includes…

  • very set and precise
  • fluid and free-flowing
  • random and tossed
  • arranged in some sort of shape
  • arranged as a border
  • employing changes of scale
  • positive and negative motifs
  • linking images and background patterns
  • 3D effects, shadows and shading
  • motifs and colours in different ways
  • changing proportioning of motifs and elements

From this new knowledge, and how to create a croquis I did a few of my own.

IMG_2484
croquis, without paint
IMG_2483
two different types of croquis, one border one tossed
IMG_2482
same croqis, one with colour

 

I really enjoyed creating these crocks, it was definitely a way for me to think about my theme and my motifs. To figure out a way how they could become repeated deigns. To think about my collection more professionally.

 

Published by

yasminfroude

I am a textiles student. Leaning ad experimenting with the beauty that is textiles. I want to share my journey and experience, doing what I love and learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

