Work Experience: Week 3-Part 2

My sessions with the first years in very interesting. Natalie my tutor is there with me to help them. But after that she leaves me with them, with is sometimes challenging as my knowledge of how to put in zips and darts and anything related to making clothes is very limited compared to hers.

However they are designing and making textual neckwear pieces i think i help them in any sort of way possible, weather its how to make it, how its going to fit on the body. This week they started sampling by using inspiration from my samples, they continued to make their own. They also started to being to create a template for the neckwear which was also interesting as I had never done pattern cutting before so was a learning curve for me.

It was great to give them one to one advise and possible guidance, it was great to see some of their faces of excited, as we started talking about possible ideas. Or if i suggest how about doing this…. or even this….. . It was a great session, and they all left with an idea of technique they didn’t have before coming in, witch was a great feeling.

All of this gave me a great sense of the fact that I think i would really enjoy a career in teaching. I love the feeling I get when those students, get excited or even get excited about the ideas I’m giving them. I love the relationship between the student teacher.

Iv also been helping one of the second years in her designs. As most of them well be working closely the last couple of weeks.

 

img_2233

I think I have been a great help to lara, during her design and ideas. Im there to support her and them in any way. Due to the tutors giving styling and design advise I could give more textiles based advice, with fabric and ideas.

Published by

yasminfroude

I am a textiles student. Leaning ad experimenting with the beauty that is textiles. I want to share my journey and experience, doing what I love and learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

