Making Connections

The start of the next year in my university journey. The first year was so much fun and a great challenge, so I’m looking forward to what the second year brings. This year is a more of a personal journey, which scares me. Having the responsibility of recreating my own brief, is something iv never done before and is seems very daunting.

My starting point is to think about what i was taught last year, and what i loved doing. Which is also difficult as i enjoyed everything. Although i think stitch was my strength, and i think thats what i would like to develop further. However I loved the mixture of stitch and print, where i created a pattern or design using the print equipment and then using some stitch to create more detail. In a effect creating some beautiful designs and ideas.

I really enjoyed creating digital designs, however I’m not sure if it was my strongest strength. As I think I’m more of a hands on designer. Although i think I would like to experiment  with it a bit more, and using it with stitch which was something I didn’t do in the first year.

I also like the idea of collage, which is a way of using a variety of techniques in order to create beautiful collage passed designs. Something I learnt last year, is that less is more. That sometimes the most simple patterns make the best designs.

I was still torn between what field I wanted to go in ether, interiors, stationery, or fashion. As i prefer stitch i thought interiors would be more suited and I love the idea of bedding, lighting and curtains. Which I think is just a starting point in the broad world of interiors. However i love all the fields, so more research is need to find what i truly want to concentrate on. Heres a few of my favourites during my research.

012_playtimea8c76cc28f03a1e726f1ccf91b9f0f35decorative-papers-new-2016-3od-pe15-arsinoe-ambiancenotebook-notepads-paper-blancks

I think floral designing as been my string point however I think maybe I should experiment with creating different designs, using different imagery. Such as, children’s designs, which is something thats been exciting and intriguing to me during my research.

Published by

yasminfroude

I am a textiles student. Leaning ad experimenting with the beauty that is textiles. I want to share my journey and experience, doing what I love and learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

