UP-CYCLING Denim

For this weeks brief we had to use denim and rework it to create a partial garment or a create a new idea or combination using the denim. We were instructed to use techniques in order to depress, embellish and rework the denim.

I chose to use a pair of old degrees to up-cycle, i used the top half of the dungarees, then used a waste band and zip from a different pair of jeans. I then started just pinning and stitching different fabrics and techniques together in more to create a messy patchwork, to build up the bottom. I used technique that i had done in the other workshops, including some silk painting that I had made.

I love how ruff it is, and how messy the patchwork is. The fact i can keep on adding to it, make it my own. I think it gives a hidden meaning of the future being all over the place, and that it is still growing and will forever change and grow.

I still want to work into these, still add more patches and small techniques. I would also like to use some flowers and pattern to go up the dungarees and also maybe use vines and tress to emphasis the grow element.

Published by

yasminfroude

I am a textiles student. Leaning ad experimenting with the beauty that is textiles. I want to share my journey and experience, doing what I love and learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

