Field: Week 1, Conferences

 

Day 1:

For our first week of field, we had to chose a variety of confernces and lectures to attend and take ideas from. I chose ‘living seas’  and  ‘The futures already here: Its just evenly distrubuted’.

I chose ‘living seas’ because I thought it sounded interesting to know more about the bay and the environment around it. However it was more about the marine life and life in the water. Which i really enjoyed as it gave me realisation of the laws and ideas being created in the bay. It also gave me great visual ideas of what i can concentrate on and create in the module.

The second i chose was ‘the futures already here:its just evenly distributed’, it was one of the choses that i was more curious about. It gave me an insite of the technology and development thats already been created in the 21st century, and what is to come. I think it was very different and so way ‘nerd’ to what I’m used to. However it was interesting, and more thinking time to see how i could take it further.

We also had a really inspirational talk from and great speaker and successful business man, David Heit. He had great advice for us who are starting out and what the reality is after university. I think it was a great way for use to end the conferences and and for us to think about our own futures.

‘By doing interesting things, interesting things happens’-David Heit

Day 2:

On the second day i chose workshops that I wanted to attend, in the end I didn’t get to do the ones I chose but i didn’t mind cause i wanted to do them all. The first one i attended was a trip to Landaff Cathedral, it was a task to think more about sketching on location. To use pictures and sketches to use as inspiration for out current and future modules.

My second one i attended was a ritual and mask making. It was good to do something creative with just paper and tape, and it taught us to just go for it and see how it turns out. To not think about how it feels or what its gonna look like, just experiment with shape. It so had a concentration on theatrical drama, which i also enjoyed as it was something different fro me to think about.

IMG_0408

As a result i think the two days where great for me to try and think about things, and it gave me lots of things to think about, to think about what i wanted to do for this module.

Published by

yasminfroude

I am a textiles student. Leaning ad experimenting with the beauty that is textiles. I want to share my journey and experience, doing what I love and learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

