Dissolvable fabric

During my third lesson of stitch we were taught how to use dissolvable fabric. dissolvable fabric is something iv been familiar with perviously, however i was still not fully comfortable with using and using it in the best way. I started off by using one of my drawings from the Monday drawing session in the museum. At first I was going to create just a quick study of the flower, however I started to use more than one colour thread. It become a more complex embroidery stitch than i was imagining. I think its a great piece and shows great technique, however it look a long time, time that we can’t take for granted in the stitch room. I need more experimental experiments using the fabric, as i need to find out what works and what doesn’t.

My next step is to create quicker but beautiful pieces, so that I can just experiment with the fabric and see its abilities. I have had another lesson previously and I did experiment with it more and use more colour and stitch technique. However I think I still need to use more of the techniques that iv leant perviously.

As I have now completed my final lesson with Maggie in the stitch room, and if I had to compare print and stitch I would say that stitch is my favourite, however stitch was something complete new to be, however I completed a lot of work during the print lesson compared to stitch. As I think stitch takes longer to undertake. As a result i have less stitch samples to chose from. As we can chose or workshop next week I think I might use my time wisely in the stitch room and get some more samples done.

Published by

yasminfroude

I am a textiles student. Leaning ad experimenting with the beauty that is textiles. I want to share my journey and experience, doing what I love and learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

